Reviews Testimonials from venues

Belinda Gibson from the 'Glasshouse theatre' Pt McQuarie wrote on 5/6/12
Dear Janet,

A huge thank you to you, Chuck and David for making the trip to Port Macquarie to perform at the Glasshouse.

As always we have had such a wonderful response from our patrons following your performance. The quality of performance is excellent and your voice is truly amazing.

As a venue we really valued the ability to be able to present an afternoon of Jazz on the Sunday afternoon preceding the MondayMorning Music  concert. While there was some small cross over in the audiences the bulk of patrons attending on the Sunday show were  not regular Morning Music or Season attendees, so this provided us a great opportunity to tap into another market segment in our community.   This model of multiple shows crossing over our markets also provide some great cost efficiencies for us. It is  a great model moving forward with artists such as yourself who are able to provide a diversity of performance to meet the demands of a full concert and a Morning Music style presentation.

 Thank you again for both shows and we look forward to working with you again in future.

Best wishes

Belinda

Cheryl Jorgenson from GGAC wrote

Wednesday 27 April 2011.
 
Dear Janet,
I would like to thank you for the two outstanding performances you presented at The Arts Centre earlier this month.  
 
Your versatility and repertoire enabled us to cater for two different audiences and to enhance the Centre’s reputation for presenting quality works and artists.   
    
As one of the shows in our inaugural “A Morning With” series for seniors, “Doris and Me” was extremely well received and as the Centre’s programmer, it was satisfying to see the reaction of the patrons to the show and to receive so many “thank you, that was wonderful” compliments as they left the venue.
 
Being able to then present the Janet Seidel Trio as part of our “Live & Intimate” in The Basement Series the following evening attracted the jazz lovers as well as several patrons who had enjoyed the performance of “Doris and Me”.
 
Thank you once again.
 
 Kind  regards,
 
 
Cheryl Jorgensen
 

 

 

CD REVIEW - 'Love Letters' 
Jazz Dimensions (Germany) - Carina Prange 
March 18, 2001 

 

The Australian singer and piano player Janet Seidel and her band together with William Galison created a perfect, smooth masterpiece with 'Love Letters'. 
For lovers of passionate music Janet Seidel's latest piece of work is wonderfully suited - nearly disturbing how perfect the whole thing sounds!

CD REVIEW - 'Love Letters' 
Phillip Sametz -from ABC Fine Music magazine  April 2001
 

The chemistry is palpable with Seidel's melodic performances finding a fine foil in Galison's free wheeling approach...a sheen of quiet sophistication is everywhere apparent. 

CD REVIEW - 'Love Letters' 
'All About Jazz' Website - Dave Nathan  April 2001
 

With her clear, cool voice, Janet Seidel successfully combines the fluencies of such singers as Chris Connor, Blossom Dearie, Peggy Lee and Doris Day into a style which focuses on delivering the story told by the lyrics rather than making her vocal faculties the message. 
On the lighter side, Seidel takes on a girlish tone (which she does very well) with another Hoagy Carmichael gem, 'Rockin' Chair. 
Galison also shows he can sing as he joins Seidel on a tender duet of 'Every Time We Say Goodbye. 
Seidel has earned admission into that select cadre of singers who accompany themselves at piano like Sarah Vaughan, Jeri Southern, Shirley Horn and Nina Simone. 
Love Letters is another fine production by Janet Seidel with lots of help from her friends and is highly recommended.

CD REVIEW - 'Love Letters'  Michael Foster (The Canberra Times 11 December 2000) 

Seidel's voice and piano playing and Galison's harmonica rates highly among those smooth combinations that seem so natural. 

Review of Live Concert from Courier Mail newspaper (Sept 2001)
Simple Messages by Neville Meyers 
Reviewing Janet Seidel & William Galison at Brisbane Jazz Club 

Sydney singer Janet Seidel and New York harmonica player William Galison have been delivering a simple message to Queensland jazz audiences: two distinctive voices can ignite and fire each other. 

The swinging duo had the added advantage of tight and expert backing from Seidel's regular working band (bassist brother David Seidel, guitarist Chuck Morgan and drummer Adam Pache) for Sunday's performance at the Brisbane Jazz Club.

The professionalism of both performers rarely flagged in their three generous sets. 

Seidel's lyrical understatement consistently shone, beginning with her opening number (a loping, languid, medium-paced 'And the angels sing'). It was also carried through on ballads as well as up-tempo numbers, as she accompanied herself on piano. 

Galison, alternating with both diatonic and chromatic harmonicas, expertly showcased the instrument's rich timbre behind Seidel on several ballads and delivered on the instrument's lusty capacity to swing.

They capped their performance with a standing ovation, delivering on their salute to trumpeter Chet Baker (Every time we say goodbye), offering 'Them there eyes' as an encore.

Armidale Necom Concert: Massiel Barros-torning Writes...

The Janet Seidel trio concert was sensational! Each member so talented and passionate, it was an absolute feeling of “how lucky am I to be here”. As a trio, they entertained beyond anyone I have ever seen live. The experience was memorable, I was moved, entertained and overwhelmed with emotion, because their performance was so intimate, honest, and world class.

We had visitors from overseas and out of state, they had never experienced music sung so beautifully and performed with such an enthusiastic vibe. The audience clapped so hard, we clapped so hard, because they were just amazing!

A world class act indeed.

Ingrid Petts Writes From Moruya

Sat 3rd July at The River Restaurant in Moruya, South Coast NSW. Those residents who were unable to obtain a reservation at The River Restaurant on Saturday night, missed a rare treat. JanetSeidel and her Trio (Quartet!) performed to a packed house receiving much ovation throughout the evening, including demands for encores at the end of the night. Janet is a well known Jazz and Cabaret artist whose intimate performance draws her audiences full and silent appreciation, until the end that is!

She was ably supported by her very talented brother David on the double bass, the wonderful Chuck Morgan on guitar and ukulele and as a special treat Ben Jones on saxophone. On top of all this The River produced a delicious 3 course dinner included in the price. I particularly look forward to tracking her down in other venues and would recommend people keep an eye on her web site for gigs nearby.

Tomerong School Of Arts Hall

John Lord 7.7.10 audience member Tomerong School of arts Hall:

'What a fabulous night’s entertainment with Janet Seidel, the world-renowned jazz singer, and her trio, all master musicians – and Ben Jones on saxophone as well! They had the audience spell-bound from the first note and the applause after each solo was quite deafening. The time just seemed to fly and, all too soon, she was into a number of audience-induced encores.

The rapport between Janet and Ben, particularly, was amazing and the choice of music superb – and all of this on a cold winter’s night!

I feel that I can speak for all who attended by saying that it was immensely enjoyable and we all hope that Janet can come back again soon. Thanks to Janet, Ben, Chuck and David – a brilliant show'

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Reviews Testimonials from venues